Triple Crown Races

Triple Crown Winners

American Pharaoh
Seattle Slew
Count Fleet
War Admiral
Gallant Fox
Sir Barton

Triple Crown Results

The Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing is a series of three Thoroughbred horse races for three-year-old horses run in May and early June of each year.
Kentucky Derby, run over 1 and 1/4 miles (2.01 km) at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky
Preakness Stakes, run over 1 and 3/16 miles (1.91 km) at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland
Belmont Stakes, run over 1 and 1/2 miles (2.41 km) at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York
The Triple Crown starts with The Kentucky Derby on the first Saturday of May. The Preakness follows two weeks later. The Belmont Stakes is three weeks after The Preakness in early June. In the U.S., the term "Triple Crown" is the usual reference for these three horse races, a term shared with a hitter who leads his league in home runs, batting average, and runs batted in, and a pitcher who leads in earned run average, wins, and strikeouts during a single Major League Baseball regular season.

While Daily Racing Form writer Charles Hatton is commonly credited with originating the term to reference these races in 1930, they were referred to by that name at least as early as 1923.

Only 11 horses have ever won the U.S. Triple Crown; none since 1978

Triple Crown Trivia

As of June 7, 2008, the current period of 30 years, since Affirmed won in 1978, is the longest drought between Triple Crown winning horses. Since 1978, eleven horses have won both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes. Of those, Real Quiet has come the closest to winning the Triple Crown, losing the Belmont Stakes by a nose in 1998. Charismatic led the Belmont in the final furlong in 1999 but broke his left front leg in the final stretch and fell back to third. The four most recent to win the Kentucky Derby contest and the Preakness but lose the Belmont were War Emblem in 2002, Funny Cide in 2003, Smarty Jones in 2004, and Big Brown in 2008. War Emblem tripped at the start of the Belmont, Funny Cide lost the Belmont in the slop to fresh horses, Smarty Jones lost by only a length, and Big Brown, who ran so well at the Derby and Preakness, seemed out of sorts at Belmont, finishing last. In addition, several horses have won two of the three races since the last Triple Crown win, most recently Afleet Alex in 2005, who lost the Kentucky Derby but won the Preakness and Belmont.

Only one horse, Alydar, has placed (second place) in all three races. He was defeated by Affirmed in all three races in 1978 by a combined margin of two lengths. In addition, Mane Minister finished third in each race in 1991, and Hawkster finished fifth in each race in 1989.

2006 was the first time since 2000 that three different horses won the races: Barbaro won the Kentucky Derby (but then suffered an eventually fatal injury during the Preakness), Bernardini won the Preakness, and Jazil won the Belmont Stakes. It happened again in 2007, with Street Sense winning the Kentucky Derby, Curlin winning the Preakness and the filly Rags to Riches winning the Belmont. Rags to Riches is 2006 Belmont winner Jazil's half sister.

Gallant Fox is the only triple crown winner to sire another triple crown winner, Omaha

DRF WinningTechniques

Winning Techniques
The paper to read when you're playing to win


Bet at 5dimes